Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

[ Big| Medium| Small] -



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 132 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
    bojjenclon
  Mon Jan 21, 2008 10:28 pm
User avatar
Member


Location: Right behind you...
When I try to call it I get an error on that line after the line that looks like this: self.contents.draw_text(10, @n, 640, 32, "â €”

_________________

My avatar was made by me, if I see anyone with it you will be reported for theft.

Image
Image


Top Top
Profile      
 

    ImmuneEntity
  Tue Jan 22, 2008 2:54 am
User avatar
Sponsor


Location: Minnesota, USA
Isn't there some way to make the window wider? I tried modifying  super(0, 32, 460, 330) in Window_Journal and changing the 460 value to like 550 and changing the 0 to something else, which does change the width, but then I can't change the x coordinate of the window for some reason, so I can't center it. No matter what I put in for x, it doe not change the x coordinate.


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Brewmeister
  Tue Jan 22, 2008 3:36 am
Paste above Main
User avatar


lv 99 Balance Wizard

Location: 42.655713 N 82.619282 W
No worries, Love!  ;)

I'm predicting your next question will be, "How do I move the completed items to the end of the list?"  :)

I made a couple of modifications. (that being one of them.) As well as changing the 'for' loops & journal_height assignment so you don't have to update them. You only need to enter all your quests in the 'data' list, and it will figure out the size.
I also added an 'initialize' method to Scene_Journal to allow for a "callback" from the map or menu.  Change the menu call in Scene_Menu from:

$scene = Scene_Journal.new        # will return to map

to

$scene = Scene_Journal.new(1)    # will return to menu

Here are the modified scripts:
[spoiler=Window_Journal]
[code]
#==============================================================================
# ** Window_Journal
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#  This window displays a journal.
#  Original Script - Lambchop
#  Moved completed quests to end of list & green text - Brew
#  Modified 'for' loops & 'journal_height' so you only have to edit the
#  data array. - Brew
#==============================================================================

class Window_Journal < Window_Selectable
# ------------------------
def initialize
  super(0, 32, 460, 330)
  @column_max = 1
  refresh
  self.index = 0
### to change the windowskin for the journal
#  self.windowskin = RPG::Cache.windowskin("RMXP4life_Wood.png")
###
end


#--------------------------------------------------------------------------
# * Draw the contents of the item window
#--------------------------------------------------------------------------
def refresh
  if self.contents != nil
    self.contents.dispose
    self.contents = nil
  end
 
  # populate your journal with entries. Each entry must match its switch number!
  @data = []
  @data[1] = "Help Man"
  @data[2] = "Kill Chicken"
  @data[3] = "Make cow eat"
  @data[4] = "Sniff the Glove"
  @data[5] = "Jump off a bridge after your friends"
  @data[6] = "Item 6"
  @data[7] = "Item 7"
  @data[8] = "Item 8"
  @data[9] = "Item 9"
  @data[10] = "Item 10"
  @data[11] = "Item 11"
  @data[12] = "Item 12"
  @data[13] = "Item 13"
 
  num = @data.size
     
  # variables
  @journal_height = (num - 2)*32  # y height of entire journal
  @n = 0                    # y coord for each entry
  @item_max = 0              # max items to display
 
  # draw the bitmap. the text will appear on this bitmap
  self.contents = Bitmap.new(width - 32, height+@journal_height)
     
 
  for i in 1..(num - 1)
    if ($game_switches[i + 100] == true) and ($game_switches[i + 200] == false)
      draw_item(i)
      @item_max += 1
    end
  end       
  for i in 1..(num - 1)
    if ($game_switches[i + 200] == true)
      draw_item_complete(i)
      @item_max += 1
    end
  end       
 
end
 
#--------------------------------------------------------------------------
# * Draw an individual item in the window
#    index : Index of the item to be drawn
#--------------------------------------------------------------------------

def draw_item(index)
      item = @data[index]
      rect = Rect.new(10, @n, 640, 32)
      self.contents.fill_rect(rect, Color.new(0,0,0,0))       
      self.contents.font.color.set(256,256,128,256)
      self.contents.draw_text(10, @n, 640, 32, "â €”

_________________
"Of course that's just my opinion. I could be wrong!"


Image


Last edited by Brewmeister on Thu Jan 24, 2008 4:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top Top
Profile      
 

    Brewmeister
  Tue Jan 22, 2008 3:48 am
Paste above Main
User avatar


lv 99 Balance Wizard

Location: 42.655713 N 82.619282 W
Bojjenclon, it's most likely the 'item' in the next line. Did you update the line that reads:

    for i in 1..5

You need to change the '5' to the number of items in your list.


Immune, change the line in Scene_Journal:

    @journal_window.x = 90

to

    @journal_window.x = 45


Be Well


Nope, it's not a double-post! I'm answering new questions, just a 'lag' issue."

_________________
"Of course that's just my opinion. I could be wrong!"


Image


Top Top
Profile      
 

    bojjenclon
  Wed Jan 23, 2008 2:42 am
User avatar
Member


Location: Right behind you...
But I have 3 items right now. Well I did cange what switch for each is used, is that relevent?

_________________

My avatar was made by me, if I see anyone with it you will be reported for theft.

Image
Image


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Brewmeister
  Thu Jan 24, 2008 4:26 am
Paste above Main
User avatar


lv 99 Balance Wizard

Location: 42.655713 N 82.619282 W
Can you post your Window_Journal script?
And tell me which Switch you're starting with.

Use:

[ spoiler ][ code ]  (without the spaces)
paste script here
[ /code ][ /spoiler ]

Be Well

_________________
"Of course that's just my opinion. I could be wrong!"


Image


Top Top
Profile      
 

    bojjenclon
  Thu Jan 24, 2008 1:55 pm
User avatar
Member


Location: Right behind you...
1) I got the jorunalk to open but I don't see any messages 2) I started with 101 (i+100) 3) I can't post it, as this is not my computer

_________________

My avatar was made by me, if I see anyone with it you will be reported for theft.

Image
Image


Top Top
Profile      
 

    bojjenclon
  Sun Jan 27, 2008 7:43 pm
User avatar
Member


Location: Right behind you...
bojjenclon wrote:
1) I got the jorunalk to open but I don't see any messages 2) I started with 101 (i+100) 3) I can't post it, as this is not my computer

_________________

My avatar was made by me, if I see anyone with it you will be reported for theft.

Image
Image


Top Top
Profile      
 

    mtgmaster
  Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:39 pm
Does anyone remember laughter?
User avatar
Member


Location: England
Have you set the switches to on?


Top Top
Profile      
 

    bojjenclon
  Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:13 pm
User avatar
Member


Location: Right behind you...
Well duh. But seriosly, yeah I set the switch to on and nothing happens. I tried later in my game as well with a different switch, still nothing

Can someone repost that icon for the completed stuff?

_________________

My avatar was made by me, if I see anyone with it you will be reported for theft.

Image
Image


Last edited by bojjenclon on Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top Top
Profile      
 

    Brewmeister
  Tue Jan 29, 2008 6:11 am
Paste above Main
User avatar


lv 99 Balance Wizard

Location: 42.655713 N 82.619282 W
The white checkmark comes with the demo. The green checkmark is up there in one of my previous posts. Just right-click -> Save image.

Can you post your Journal scripts from Your computer?

_________________
"Of course that's just my opinion. I could be wrong!"


Image


Top Top
Profile      
 

    bojjenclon
  Thu Jan 31, 2008 2:43 am
User avatar
Member


Location: Right behind you...
Ok, I'll get them up. Oh, and can you make a demo with the completed list as well?

_________________

My avatar was made by me, if I see anyone with it you will be reported for theft.

Image
Image


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Brewmeister
  Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:03 am
Paste above Main
User avatar


lv 99 Balance Wizard

Location: 42.655713 N 82.619282 W
Nope, but I can post the scripts with a 2nd page implemented.

[spoiler=Window_Journal]
[code]
#==============================================================================
# ** Window_Journal
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#  This window displays a journal.
#  Original Script - Lambchop
#  Modified 'for' loops & 'journal_height' so you only have to edit the
#  data array. - Brew
#  Moved completed items to 2nd page (L, R arrows to switch)
#==============================================================================

class Window_Journal < Window_Selectable
# ------------------------
attr_accessor :page
def initialize
  super(0, 32, 460, 330)
  @column_max = 1
  @page = false
  refresh
  self.index = 0
### to change the windowskin for the journal
#  self.windowskin = RPG::Cache.windowskin("RMXP4life_Wood.png")
###
end


#--------------------------------------------------------------------------
# * Draw the contents of the item window
#--------------------------------------------------------------------------
def refresh
  if self.contents != nil
    self.contents.dispose
    self.contents = nil
  end
 
  # populate your journal with entries. Each entry must match its switch number!
  @page_title = []
  @page_title[1] = "Active Quests"
  @page_title[2] = "Completed Quests"
  @data = []
  @data[1] = "Help Man"
  @data[2] = "Kill Chicken"
  @data[3] = "Make cow eat"
  @data[4] = "Sniff the Glove"
  @data[5] = "Jump off a bridge after your friends"
  @data[6] = "Item 6"
  @data[7] = "Item 7"
  @data[8] = "Item 8"
  @data[9] = "Item 9"
  @data[10] = "Item 10"
  @data[11] = "Item 11"
  @data[12] = "Item 12"
  @data[13] = "Item 13"
 
  num = @data.size
     
  # variables
  @journal_height = (num - 2)*32  # y height of entire journal
  @n = 0                    # y coord for each entry
  @item_max = 1              # max items to display
 
  # draw the bitmap. the text will appear on this bitmap
  self.contents = Bitmap.new(width - 32, height+@journal_height)

  if @page == false
  # Show active items
    draw_title(1)
    for i in 1..(num - 1)
      if ($game_switches[i + 100] == true) and ($game_switches[i + 200] == false)
        draw_item(i)
        @item_max += 1
      end
    end
  else
  # Show complete items
    draw_title(2)
    for i in 1..(num - 1)
      if ($game_switches[i + 200] == true)
        draw_item_complete(i)
        @item_max += 1
      end
    end       
  end
end
 
#--------------------------------------------------------------------------
# * Draw an individual item in the window
#    index : Index of the item to be drawn
#--------------------------------------------------------------------------

def draw_title(index)
      item = @page_title[index]
      rect = Rect.new(10, @n, 460, 32)
      self.contents.fill_rect(rect, Color.new(0,0,0,0))       
      self.contents.font.color.set(256,256,256,256)
      self.contents.draw_text(0, @n, 428, 32, item, 1)
      @n += 32
     
end
def draw_item(index)
      item = @data[index]
      rect = Rect.new(10, @n, 460, 32)
      self.contents.fill_rect(rect, Color.new(0,0,0,0))       
      self.contents.font.color.set(256,256,128,256)
      self.contents.draw_text(10, @n, 15, 32, "â €”

_________________
"Of course that's just my opinion. I could be wrong!"


Image


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Samhatake
  Fri Feb 01, 2008 1:23 am
User avatar
Member


Location: Brooklyn, New York
Im getting an error when I start the game:
Content Hidden

It occurs when I pick "New Game"

_________________
Samhatake of rmxp.org is dead. (yay?)
I'm only on Xbox Live under the GT of "l ShadesDeath l" in which I'm active fairly.
If I'm not Online I'm either dealing with life or might be on the PSN under "angelgrade87".


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Brewmeister
  Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:22 pm
Paste above Main
User avatar


lv 99 Balance Wizard

Location: 42.655713 N 82.619282 W
Sam, do you have other custom scripts?

Can you post your scripts.rxdata file?

_________________
"Of course that's just my opinion. I could be wrong!"


Image


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Samhatake
  Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:46 pm
User avatar
Member


Location: Brooklyn, New York
I took out the jornal script and AP Script,
These are the scripts I have:
Content Hidden

_________________
Samhatake of rmxp.org is dead. (yay?)
I'm only on Xbox Live under the GT of "l ShadesDeath l" in which I'm active fairly.
If I'm not Online I'm either dealing with life or might be on the PSN under "angelgrade87".


Top Top
Profile      
 

    HoRe
  Fri Feb 22, 2008 1:02 am
User avatar
Member

Hey Brew, I know you advised Love to look at another post when they said they couldn't find the Window_Menu. I looked, yet I still can't figure it out.  :down: I know, I'm ashamed. And the link for the demo goes nowhere.

_________________
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a70/ve ... banner.png[/img]
Happou fusagari... The Eight Directions are blocked...



Top Top
Profile      
 

    Brewmeister
  Sun Feb 24, 2008 9:30 pm
Paste above Main
User avatar


lv 99 Balance Wizard

Location: 42.655713 N 82.619282 W
Ok, I updated the instructions for a new game.   (there is no Window_Menu script)

This post got destroyed by the server move. (See the 1st post)

_________________
"Of course that's just my opinion. I could be wrong!"


Image


Last edited by Brewmeister on Wed Apr 09, 2008 2:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top Top
Profile      
 

    mcfoxx
  Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:57 pm
Member

Demo link is broken.
:(


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Brewmeister
  Thu Mar 13, 2008 12:28 am
Paste above Main
User avatar


lv 99 Balance Wizard

Location: 42.655713 N 82.619282 W
I fixed the link in my post. The original in Lambchop's I can't edit.

_________________
"Of course that's just my opinion. I could be wrong!"


Image


Top Top
Profile      
 

    snowbunnies_x
  Thu Mar 13, 2008 10:27 am
Member

brew! there you are.

it worked, thanks so much.

but one prob, the 'square' ain't long enough to support another item so the line above 'play time' cuts through the word 'journa;'

how can i change that? please and thanks.


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Brewmeister
  Thu Mar 13, 2008 6:51 pm
Paste above Main
User avatar


lv 99 Balance Wizard

Location: 42.655713 N 82.619282 W
Look up ^

I changed that part to just copy & paste the Scene_Menu updates into another script above main.

_________________
"Of course that's just my opinion. I could be wrong!"


Image


Top Top
Profile      
 

    snowbunnies_x
  Sat Mar 15, 2008 8:35 am
Member

brew, i have another problem.

i copied and pasted that code into the scene_menu part and everything seems fine at first, but when i playtested my game i couldn't even go into my menu section! why is this? O_O

something about line 70 having problems...

i check line 70 and the word 'update' is there... what's that supposed to mean?


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Brewmeister
  Sat Mar 15, 2008 10:04 pm
Paste above Main
User avatar


lv 99 Balance Wizard

Location: 42.655713 N 82.619282 W
Not a clue.  To even have a chance at guessing, I need to see the whole error. (either type it in, or post a screenshot of the error window.)

More than likely, something got botched with the copy / paste.

Another problem is, now I have so many different versions of this script, I don't even remember which one is yours...

If you want to post your version of the scripts (Scene_Menu, Scene_journal, Window_Journal), I can debug it for you.

Wait, I just read that again.  If you pasted my Scene_Menu in place of the default Scene_Menu, that is probably the problem.
What you needed to do was Insert a new empty script right above 'main', and add my Scene_Menu_Mods there. My version of
scene menu is not the whole script, it only adds things to the class.
To get the original / default Scene_Menu back, the easiest way is to start a new project, then copy / paste it from the
new project to your project.

So, the bottom of your scripts list should look like...

Scene_Debug              <- this is the last default script other than main
Window_Journal
Scene_Journal
Scene_Menu_Mods      <- I called this Scene_Menu_Mods so they don't get mixed up
Scene_Map_Mods        <- If you are using the "Q" option
Main

Let me know

_________________
"Of course that's just my opinion. I could be wrong!"


Image


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Samhatake
  Tue Apr 01, 2008 1:33 am
User avatar
Member


Location: Brooklyn, New York
Brew, When I use the Scene-Map Edits,
Its getting an error, I thinks its wrong # of Arguments,
so whats the problem here?

_________________
Samhatake of rmxp.org is dead. (yay?)
I'm only on Xbox Live under the GT of "l ShadesDeath l" in which I'm active fairly.
If I'm not Online I'm either dealing with life or might be on the PSN under "angelgrade87".


Last edited by Samhatake on Wed Apr 02, 2008 12:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top Top
Profile      
 

    Brewmeister
  Wed Apr 02, 2008 1:23 am
Paste above Main
User avatar


lv 99 Balance Wizard

Location: 42.655713 N 82.619282 W
Not a clue. How about posting the entire error, or a screenshot of it?

_________________
"Of course that's just my opinion. I could be wrong!"


Image


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Colonist540
  Tue Apr 08, 2008 1:32 pm
User avatar
Member

How can i make the Journal Description?

_________________
[url=http:////www.rmxp.org/forums/index.php?topic=44555.0]http://i262.photobucket.com/albums/ii105/Crusaderhafiz/Icon1.png[/img][/url]
Test play for TOZ had release.
http://i262.photobucket.com/albums/ii10 ... oolbar.png[/img]
My support


[i]Mod tag! You're it. First mod to see this, wipe it from this sig and throw it on another active member. ~Holly[i]


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Brewmeister
  Wed Apr 09, 2008 2:10 am
Paste above Main
User avatar


lv 99 Balance Wizard

Location: 42.655713 N 82.619282 W
Colonist540 wrote:
How can i make the Journal Description?


If you mean, "How do I add my own quests?"
Look in the Window_Journal script for these lines...

Expand to see the code.


and change "Task 1" to the text for your first quest

Be Well

_________________
"Of course that's just my opinion. I could be wrong!"


Image


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Colonist540
  Wed Apr 09, 2008 12:47 pm
User avatar
Member

Err...I mean like
If the player press at the journal a Description come out.Like if the player press the beer quest then it comes out the description in a new window.
Something like this:
Beer Quest:
  Go buy you Father a beer.

_________________
[url=http:////www.rmxp.org/forums/index.php?topic=44555.0]http://i262.photobucket.com/albums/ii105/Crusaderhafiz/Icon1.png[/img][/url]
Test play for TOZ had release.
http://i262.photobucket.com/albums/ii10 ... oolbar.png[/img]
My support


[i]Mod tag! You're it. First mod to see this, wipe it from this sig and throw it on another active member. ~Holly[i]


Top Top
Profile      
 

    zaid1928
  Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:39 am
User avatar
Member


Location: Canada
I want this kind of script but modded look at my script request
http://www.hbgames.org/forums/http://dev.hbgames.org/forums/viewtopic.php?p=429558#p429558


Top Top
Profile      
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 132 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

cron
We are an independent, not-for-profit game making community.
Homepage
Board Index
About Us
Downloadable Games
Free Browser Games
Games in Development
RPG Maker Support
Game Maker Support
Construct 2 Support
HBGames the eZine
Advanced RPG Maker
Site Announcements
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group