Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

[ Big| Medium| Small] -

Amy
  Sun Oct 03, 2010 1:44 am
Staff

Big Dumb Guy
So I don't know if anyone else here is studying anything computer games related, I thought I'd make an ask me thread.

Ask anything you like.

I am currently in my second year of a Computer Games Programming BSc/hons degree.

Top Top

moog
  Sun Oct 03, 2010 1:56 am
Sponsor

can you only use this degree for a video game job, or can it be the equivelant of a computer sci degree? also, why do you use xbox for most of your work?

Top Top

Toams
  Sun Oct 03, 2010 2:00 am
THAT foreigner
Sponsor

yeah 'mouse' i don't really know what it's like studying that, could you give us a quick overview of the ins-and-outs?
I knew you were using XNA and stuff but WHY

what do you DO as a CGP?

Top Top

Jaberwoky
  Sun Oct 03, 2010 3:17 am
ゆっくりしていってね!!

I am taking a computer game programming course wherein the course designers assumed 'game programming' was the same thing as 'game making' and so it has very little to do with programming anything :|

I assume CGP is similar to regular programming, only with more of a focus on the aspects used in games, like AI and physics and other mathematics.

Top Top

Amy
  Sun Oct 03, 2010 1:26 pm
Staff

Big Dumb Guy
xbox/xna doesn't come until this year actually, I am not sure how that will work.

Quote:
can you only use this degree for a video game job, or can it be the equivelant of a computer sci degree?

It can be used for any job but obviously it's the specific little bits that the employers want to know about. It isn't as generic as computer science, but since it has modules in C++ and such a lot of employers want it.

Quote:
what do you DO as a CGP?

Year one was a bit... generic. One module of game design, one of C, and two computer science modules.

Year two is getting a bit more CGP oriented.

C++ programming for games
Artificial Intelligence and Modelling
Introduction to Graphics and Modelling
Databases