Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

[ Big| Medium| Small] -

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 166 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
    Juan J. Sánchez
  Mon Sep 20, 2010 9:16 am
I'm a doctor in Costa Rica.
Sponsor

Party Mascot

Concept by Juan J. Sanchez

A world called Eorde...
An age when magick was commonplace
And kingdoms ruled the earth...

Our tale begins.

Juan J. Sánchez wrote:
October, 2011

To whomever reads this,

As you may or may not know, I'm a medicine student here in Costa Rica. Of course, I do not mean to stay here. I'd rather do a residency in the United States, preferably, Internal Medicine. For this, I have to take four very hard tests known as the United States Medical License Examinations (USMLEs), popularly called the Steps. These are Step 1, Step 2 Clinical Knowledge (CK), Step 2 Clinical Skills (CS), and Step 3. All of these tests evaluate a different component of the medical studies, including the basic sciences, the knowledge of diseases and how to treat them, and the human side of medicine.

The reason why I'm telling you this is because I will be taking my Step 1 a year from now. I had originally planned to do it somewhere near December 2012, but I also have to take another test here in Costa Rica for my clinical rotations around November of the coming year. Taking into account I will be moving to Chicago to study for the Step 1 next June, it is simply not feasible going to the US, coming back to Costa Rica to take a test, going back to the US to take the Step 1, and then coming back to Costa Rica to start my clinical rotations in January 2013. So I will be taking my Step 1 next October.