Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

[ Big| Medium| Small] -



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 85 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
    Eventing_Guy
  Mon Mar 12, 2012 4:59 am
User avatar
Awesome Bro


Location: Where the BROs are ALL just that Awesome
LoL, well those kinda details don't matter to me right now.

but I'll keep that in mind near the end of the month


Top Top
Profile      
 

    AeroLowe
  Mon Mar 12, 2012 10:28 pm
User avatar
Member

Or you could, you know, use Paint.NET or Photoshop or something, Magic Wand the white box, and then import it into Construct 2.

By the way, did you make that ninja yourself? Pretty darn good, if I must say myself.


Top Top
Profile      
 

    RadethDart
  Mon Mar 12, 2012 11:34 pm
The Radster is here!
User avatar
Sponsor


Location: United States
You can even use GIMP to get rid of the background.

_________________
awesome//sauce


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Eventing_Guy
  Tue Mar 13, 2012 1:00 am
User avatar
Awesome Bro


Location: Where the BROs are ALL just that Awesome
It's funny... I got rid of the background only to run into more problems.

I think I will just stick to a "black and white" game. Though right now I
am playing around with "Mouse" functions.


Top Top
Profile      
 

    AeroLowe
  Tue Mar 13, 2012 2:14 am
User avatar
Member

Eventing_Guy wrote:
It's funny... I got rid of the background only to run into more problems.

I think I will just stick to a "black and white" game. Though right now I
am playing around with "Mouse" functions.

What are these "problems," exactly?

I might be able to help.


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Eventing_Guy
  Tue Mar 13, 2012 2:26 am
User avatar
Awesome Bro


Location: Where the BROs are ALL just that Awesome
Well when I removed the white background for character,

- the character would be lowered into the ground...

- when I was running the character was bouncing around
even though I was not jumping.

- it messed up the Jumping and falling functions I have.

I'm not sure why it did that, but it is easier to keep things "Black and White".


Top Top
Profile      
 

    AeroLowe
  Tue Mar 13, 2012 2:55 am
User avatar
Member

Well, when you're editing the animations, there's a feature that lets you remove unneeded space in the sprite, in other words, it crops the image to the character.

This may have messed up your collision issues, but I'm not too sure myself.
Also, what are you using as your ground/tiles?


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Eventing_Guy
  Wed Mar 14, 2012 2:22 am
User avatar
Awesome Bro


Location: Where the BROs are ALL just that Awesome
It is said that Construct 2 (free trial) has 100 event limit... My quick question is.

- In total?

OR

- PER event page?


Top Top
Profile      
 

    BlueScope
  Wed Mar 14, 2012 12:55 pm
The Third Man
User avatar



Location: Germany
In total, while you need to pay attention to the fact that global variables (and I'd guess local variables as well) count towards the number as well.
So, if you have a sheet with 10 globals and 5 events, and another with 10 globals and 50 events, your total event count is 75 of 100.
You can easily figure out how many events you got left by adding a condition, copy it and paste it until you get the error message.

As far as optimization goes, make sure you're utilizing the a bit more hidden features of the program, such as the ?: operator. When I went through my stuff yesterday, I got rid of about 5 events that way, which in a picture of 100 events max is a lot.

_________________
Image

If you have a slightly positive memory of my Power Shift contest game,
you might be interested in this development screenshot...
More info about that soon!


Top Top
Profile      
 

    AeroLowe
  Wed Mar 14, 2012 8:13 pm
User avatar
Member

Say I have a sprite as the title.

To animate it (make it zoom in and out, stuff like that) would I have to do it manually using frames, or is there some sort of feature for Construct 2 that lets me animate pictures a bit (like in RPG Maker, where you can increase or decrease magnification and such)?


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Jason
  Wed Mar 14, 2012 10:51 pm
User avatar
Awesome Bro

Generic Townsperson
This is going to sound dumb, but how do I make a title screen?

I haven't figured out how to make two rooms yet and transfer between one another (Y'know, click start and it takes you to a game room etc.)

Any help would be great here, lol

_________________
This is a block of text that can be added to posts you make. There is a 9999 character limit.


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Eventing_Guy
  Wed Mar 14, 2012 11:15 pm
User avatar
Awesome Bro


Location: Where the BROs are ALL just that Awesome
Make sure you install mouse functions is enabled in Maker.

(Double click on screen and select Mouse) [should be under INPUT]

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

- Next make the button... on your title screen.

- Go to event page and add event

- select button, On click

- Add Action, System, ("Go to Layout" or "Go to Layout (By name)")


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Jason
  Wed Mar 14, 2012 11:27 pm
User avatar
Awesome Bro

Generic Townsperson
Ah thanks for that, pretty simple lol :thumb:

_________________
This is a block of text that can be added to posts you make. There is a 9999 character limit.


Top Top
Profile      
 

    BlueScope
  Fri Mar 16, 2012 1:29 am
The Third Man
User avatar



Location: Germany
To answer AeroLowe's question: Different objects have different attributes. I'm sure that Sprite objects have a scale attribute that you can set. Just take a careful look around whithin the event editor, and also pay attention to the semi-transparent window.

If you want to animate something, use an incrementing variable and scale to that factor.

@J: Be aware that it doesn't have to be a button element for you to be able to click it - you can use sprites, moving objects or anything else as a clickable target.

_________________
Image

If you have a slightly positive memory of my Power Shift contest game,
you might be interested in this development screenshot...
More info about that soon!


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Jason
  Fri Mar 16, 2012 1:47 pm
User avatar
Awesome Bro

Generic Townsperson
So I've a couple more questions that I could use help with:

#1: I'm trying to make a static HUD using both sprites and text, I can get the text to stay in place obviously, but I can't seem to get the sprite to stay in place, but follow the screen around, y'know what I mean?

#2: I'm wanting to add civilians into my game, that will run away from enemies AND the player, if you'd like to make things easier while explaining, we'll say A is player, B is enemy and C is civilian, I'd love to know how to make this happen because I think it'd be cool to have a screen filled with people (Blocks in my case...) running away from everything, maybe even dropping items at random intervals, how'd I do this?

Cheers

_________________
This is a block of text that can be added to posts you make. There is a 9999 character limit.


Top Top
Profile      
 

    bacon
  Fri Mar 16, 2012 7:50 pm
butts n booties
User avatar
Staff

Party Mascot
Quote:
#1: I'm trying to make a static HUD using both sprites and text, I can get the text to stay in place obviously, but I can't seem to get the sprite to stay in place, but follow the screen around, y'know what I mean?


Did you try putting the HUD on a separate layer and then change the parallax to 0,0?

_________________
Art Blog
Art Thread


Top Top
Profile      
 

    BlueScope
  Fri Mar 16, 2012 9:02 pm
The Third Man
User avatar



Location: Germany
As for the civilians, you'll need quite a complex formula for that. I'd say you need the relative angle from any event to any npc, and then calculate the average (if you wanna get fancy, take the difference in distance into accaount as well).

_________________
Image

If you have a slightly positive memory of my Power Shift contest game,
you might be interested in this development screenshot...
More info about that soon!


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Jason
  Sat Mar 17, 2012 12:37 am
User avatar
Awesome Bro

Generic Townsperson
The HUD is on a seperate layer, but it just stays in position wherever I put it (Top left corner) and I can move away from it and it disappears off the screen, I need it to be permanently there, and what do you mean change the parallax? As far as I can tell, everything is already at 0, 0

_________________
This is a block of text that can be added to posts you make. There is a 9999 character limit.


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Eventing_Guy
  Sat Mar 17, 2012 1:11 am
User avatar
Awesome Bro


Location: Where the BROs are ALL just that Awesome
@J Go hear... this MIGHT help

http://www.scirra.com/tutorials/37/begi ... t-2/page-7


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Jason
  Sat Mar 17, 2012 1:13 am
User avatar
Awesome Bro

Generic Townsperson
Ah right, I was looking at the properties of the objects and stuff, haha, not the layer itself, cheers :thumb:

_________________
This is a block of text that can be added to posts you make. There is a 9999 character limit.


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Eventing_Guy
  Sat Mar 17, 2012 1:26 am
User avatar
Awesome Bro


Location: Where the BROs are ALL just that Awesome
you got it? Cool

Specifically you want to make Parrallex 0,0...


Top Top
Profile      
 

    AeroLowe
  Sat Mar 17, 2012 1:45 am
User avatar
Member

How would one do dialog, with a dialogue box and everything?

Is there a plugin or something?
Or would one have to make the box pop up and have it go away when the text is done and tedious stuff like that?


Top Top
Profile      
 

    gRaViJa
  Sat Mar 17, 2012 2:39 am
Creator of Ascension
User avatar
Member


Location: Belgium
Hmm, there should be a plugin for that. if it doesn't exist yet, i'm sure someone will make it sooner or later.

Anyway, i have some trouble with stopping music. On layout1 i have song1 playing, but when i go to layout2, song1 has to stop and song2 has to start playing. For some reason, whatever i try, i can not make song1 stop. It just goes on forever. Does anyone know more about how to solve that?


Top Top
Profile      
 

    AeroLowe
  Sat Mar 17, 2012 4:16 am
User avatar
Member

gRaViJa wrote:
Hmm, there should be a plugin for that. if it doesn't exist yet, i'm sure someone will make it sooner or later.

Anyway, i have some trouble with stopping music. On layout1 i have song1 playing, but when i go to layout2, song1 has to stop and song2 has to start playing. For some reason, whatever i try, i can not make song1 stop. It just goes on forever. Does anyone know more about how to solve that?

I believe you create an event.

Condition: (when the player goes to next layout)
Action: Audio - Stop [tagged audio from layout 1]
Audio - Play [whatever you want]

I hope this clears things up. This also means you have to tag each audio file you want to stop.


Top Top
Profile      
 

    bacon
  Sat Mar 17, 2012 8:35 pm
butts n booties
User avatar
Staff

Party Mascot
AeroLowe wrote:
How would one do dialog, with a dialogue box and everything?

Is there a plugin or something?
Or would one have to make the box pop up and have it go away when the text is done and tedious stuff like that?

yeah ive been toying with the system and one of my gripes is that dialogue is more complicated than it needs to be but im sure there is a plugin like you said

_________________
Art Blog
Art Thread


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Jason
  Sat Mar 17, 2012 11:36 pm
User avatar
Awesome Bro

Generic Townsperson
Okay so I've got just one more (Hopefully...) question:

I've currently got it so spacebar makes you shoot, however, I don't want the player to be able to just spam spacebar for an instant win... I want to add some sort of a cooldown so you can only shoot every 3 seconds or so, as in disable the usage of the spacebar for that period of time... does anyone know how I'd do this? Because I'm stumped...

_________________
This is a block of text that can be added to posts you make. There is a 9999 character limit.


Top Top
Profile      
 

    So fist
  Sun Mar 18, 2012 2:59 am
Has fist, will travel.
User avatar
Sponsor

Have a variable count how many bullets you have and then just have it deactivate when x bullets are on screen.


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Eventing_Guy
  Sun Mar 18, 2012 3:51 am
User avatar
Awesome Bro


Location: Where the BROs are ALL just that Awesome
@J

- OK the FIRST thing you should do is Add a new sprite to the game.
(It could be absolutly Nothing if you want) (Lets name it Cool down)

- Add a variable to it... make it a number, & a value of "0".

now go to the event page (Specifically the event that controls your Bullets)
and ADD a NEW condition.

- If Cool Down 's Variable = 0

(Next add 3 actions at the very bottom)

- Cool Down , Set Variable to 1

- System, Wait, 3.0 seconds

- Cool Down , Set Variable to 0


Top Top
Profile      
 

    AeroLowe
  Sun Mar 18, 2012 4:29 am
User avatar
Member

Eventing_Guy wrote:
@J

- OK the FIRST thing you should do is Add a new sprite to the game.
(It could be absolutly Nothing if you want) (Lets name it Cool down)

- Add a variable to it... make it a number, & a value of "0".

now go to the event page (Specifically the event that controls your Bullets)
and ADD a NEW condition.

- If Cool Down 's Variable = 0

(Next add 3 actions at the very bottom)

- Cool Down , Set Variable to 1

- System, Wait, 3.0 seconds

- Cool Down , Set Variable to 0

But wait, wouldn't it cool down every 3 seconds because it keeps resetting to 0?


Top Top
Profile      
 

    01lifeleft
  Sun Mar 18, 2012 6:03 am
Maya researching...
User avatar
Member

Here's an example of cooldown, the math is created by Yann from C2 community.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/48963688/Capx%2 ... ldown.capx

_________________
Image


Top Top
Profile      
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 85 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

We are an independent, not-for-profit game making community.
Homepage
Board Index
About Us
Downloadable Games
Free Browser Games
Games in Development
RPG Maker Support
Game Maker Support
Construct 2 Support
HBGames the eZine
Advanced RPG Maker
Site Announcements
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group