Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

[ Big| Medium| Small] -



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
    InfernalBlissJ
  Sun Aug 03, 2014 11:55 pm
User avatar
Member

Sewer Rat

Location: Port Charlotte, FL
For some reason, all of a sudden in my game, you can just walk through everything. Not sure what the problem is. I've tried everything. It's like a glitch or something. Everything in the database is set correctly and has the right priority. Didn't have this problem before. I don't understand it. Please help. I can upload my project if I have to.


Last edited by InfernalBlissJ on Wed Aug 06, 2014 5:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top Top
Profile      
 

    Glitchfinder
  Mon Aug 04, 2014 12:19 am
BEWARE: Glitchfinder's sense of humor sucks.
User avatar
Staff

Party Mascot

Location: Approximately 93 million miles from Sol.
You probably used the wrong tile to clear something out. Try using the paint tool on all the empty space in the upper two levels, while you have the top left tile of the tileset selected.

_________________

Just call me Glitch.


Top Top
Profile      
 

    InfernalBlissJ
  Mon Aug 04, 2014 1:20 am
User avatar
Member

Sewer Rat

Location: Port Charlotte, FL
Nope, can't figure it out. I'm uploading my project to mediafire and will provide a download link. I'm lost. If you can take a look Glitchfinder, that would be great. I'll post the link as soon as it's done uploading.


Top Top
Profile      
 

    InfernalBlissJ
  Mon Aug 04, 2014 1:35 am
User avatar
Member

Sewer Rat

Location: Port Charlotte, FL
Here's the link:

https://www.mediafire.com/?bnecukr5zoz9209


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Glitchfinder
  Mon Aug 04, 2014 4:45 am
BEWARE: Glitchfinder's sense of humor sucks.
User avatar
Staff

Party Mascot

Location: Approximately 93 million miles from Sol.
Your upload seems to have an issue preventing it from extracting. Why not just compress it into a .rar, without bothering with the RM* compression? (RPG Maker has a maximum filesize that it can compress before you simply get an error and break the compressed archive.)

_________________

Just call me Glitch.


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Amy
  Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:14 am
User avatar
Staff

Big Dumb Guy
Go through your tileset and put a red x on any blank tile; if any if these show up in your map replace them with the top left blank tile.

Other than that, check your ctrl key isn't sticking.


Top Top
Profile      
 

    ZenVirZan
  Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:06 am
very undead
User avatar
Sponsor

Inept Evil Stooge

Location: land of the snags 'n tracky-dacks
I just had a look and I can't see anything out of the ordinary. Some unpassable can be crossed while others can't, even when they're on layer 3. There doesn't seem to be any pattern to the tiles affected.
It isn't a case of wrong tile transparency, neither is it scripts from what I could tell.

This is bizarre.

_________________
Image


Top Top
Profile      
 

    InfernalBlissJ
  Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:15 pm
User avatar
Member

Sewer Rat

Location: Port Charlotte, FL
Here is the re-upload of the error on mediafire. Took the other link down. And yeah, I know ZenVirZan. That's why I'm seeing if somebody can give it a second glance and possibly see something I'm not. I'm at a dead end. No sense in mapping anymore if my character is just going to be a ghost and travel through walls. Here's the new upload link.


Last edited by InfernalBlissJ on Wed Aug 06, 2014 5:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top Top
Profile      
 

    coyotecraft
  Mon Aug 04, 2014 11:16 pm
User avatar
Sponsor

Omnipresent Merchant
Data folder is missing. still can't open it.

Just a hunch. But if the first blank tile is set to "." priority it makes everything passable. It should be set to 5.


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Fusty
  Mon Aug 04, 2014 11:19 pm
Woop
User avatar
Sponsor


Location: The Netherlands
I would download it but I haven't had a copy of RPG Maker installed on my machine for years. The only thing I can think of is that you might have an event active somewhere that sets the player movement to "through". (Or whatever it's called.. it's also been years since I answered a support question about a maker :p)


Top Top
Profile      
 

    coyotecraft
  Tue Aug 05, 2014 3:38 am
User avatar
Sponsor

Omnipresent Merchant
^on a related note.
Are you loading from a save file or starting from a new game? If "through" is on when you save. It won't matter what changes you make to the map or events.


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Heretic86
  Tue Aug 05, 2014 3:50 am
Member

Party Mascot
Could be "Detail Tiles" also. Things like small plants growing on top of tree stumps will cause the tree stump to become passable.

Heres how it all works:

If a Tile is not marked as Priority (the ones with the Star that go over the Player) then it checks Passable on Layer 3, then 2, then 1. So for the tree stump example, layer 1 would be grass, layer 2 is the stump, and layer 3 is the "detail". If Layer 3 is "not empty" (the tile in the top right corner), not a Priority (has the Star 1, Star 2, etc), and IS passable, the engine uses Layer 3 to determine if the player can walk. The problem here is in each tileset, there are a LOT of blank (but not "empty") graphics that can all have passability settings, so finding these is usually a nightmere.

Dont worry, there is a TRICK!

In the editor, on the spots you are having problems preventing the player from walking, RIGHT CLICK, dont left click, RIGHT CLICK on that Tile on Layer 3. Right Clicking will cause the editor to highlight the Tile that is in use in the Tile Pallete to your left. Thus, it should have a White Box around it. If you have a large tileset, it is much more difficult to find. And there is another solution to this. After you've right clicked on Layer 3, left click on the Scroll Bar to make the Tile Pallete window active. Then press the down key on your keyboard once, then the Up key on your keyboard once. The tile that is in use there should now be both highlighted with a White Box and it should be displaying, even with really big tilesets.

RIGHT CLICK works as a COPY

The Right Click to Copy works to highlight which tile you are using, but only if you Right Click on ONE TILE. You can Right Click and highlight multiple Tiles at the same time, but when you do this, it wont show which tile is selected. To "Paste", just Left Click on your Map on the appropriate layer. When you "Copy" also, Autotiles do their Auto thing. But guess what, there are even more tricks you probably dont know about.

This is unrelated to the issue with your map however, its just a point of info. If you hold down SHIFT while drawing an Autotile, it completely fills in that Autotile as if it were in the Center. If you use another tile to draw over an existing Autotile, it will NOT AFFECT the Autotiles on your map. This allows you to do things like put Grass on top of Water or Water on top of other types of terrain. There is a Water Autotile that has only Water, but none of the Terrain that is below it. So you can put water on top of Stone, Beach, Cliff, Grass, Dark Grass or ANY other type of tile.

Back to the Glitch

There are many scripts that alter Passability. If your issue is not caused by some sort of Tile, then it may be caused by a Script. You can fully disable a Script without deleting it by putting "__END__" at the very top of the script on its own line, no quotes. Do NOT put ANYTHING else after __END__, even SPACES.

__END__

This will prevent anything in the script from running. I recommend the top line because you can easily check that it is "disabled". Deleting scripts that require settings are a nightmare to go back and reconfigure.

Downloading your map now, but its large so I'll just make another post once its done. By broadband barely qualifies as high speed. Damn rural interwebz...

---

Edit: I cant find it. There is no DATA.

If it is an issue, duplicate your entire project so you have a backup and delete anything that is not relevant and still has the bug for us to find, then upload that...

_________________
My Collection of Art and 100% Compatible Scripts


Top Top
Profile      
 

    InfernalBlissJ
  Tue Aug 05, 2014 6:40 am
User avatar
Member

Sewer Rat

Location: Port Charlotte, FL
Yeah i've been having problems compressing my project the last few times and uploading it. It may have been my fault though. I think i forgot to include the data folder with it when i compressed it. I'll try it one more time when i get home and make sure every folder is included. I was kinda in a rush this morning doing it, since i had to leave for work. So my apologies go out to the people who have had problems with the download.


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Heretic86
  Tue Aug 05, 2014 8:44 am
Member

Party Mascot
Ok, Im sure its an easy fix. Its not like its hard to download a large file over a small file, just takes more time.

Something else to try is to check the "through" setting for the Player. Set up an Event to Set Move Route for the Player, then put in a script exactly as follows:

print @through

That will tell you if you have accidentally turned on the Players ability to 'walk through walls' as @through=true allows wall-walking.

Just something to check for. Detailed response as this is something that bites so many up and coming mappers in the behind.

_________________
My Collection of Art and 100% Compatible Scripts


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Glitchfinder
  Tue Aug 05, 2014 9:32 am
BEWARE: Glitchfinder's sense of humor sucks.
User avatar
Staff

Party Mascot

Location: Approximately 93 million miles from Sol.
Ah, so that's the issue. You tried to upload a compressed archive of a project over 128MB in size. That breaks RPG Maker XP's compression and makes it impossible to extract it properly.

As for the maps themselves, I'll still need to be able to dig into the project to see exactly what the issue is.

_________________

Just call me Glitch.


Top Top
Profile      
 

    ZenVirZan
  Tue Aug 05, 2014 9:49 am
very undead
User avatar
Sponsor

Inept Evil Stooge

Location: land of the snags 'n tracky-dacks
Extracted fine for me.
Right click on the supplied .exe and extract it with WinRAR. Don't run the .exe itself, because we all know that's broken.

Set your white-space tile's priority to 5* and it fixes your passability problem - I just did it with your project and it worked fine :thumb:

EDIT: I should read above before posting, lol

_________________
Image


Last edited by ZenVirZan on Tue Aug 05, 2014 9:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top Top
Profile      
 

    InfernalBlissJ
  Tue Aug 05, 2014 9:54 am
User avatar
Member

Sewer Rat

Location: Port Charlotte, FL
I figured it out. Turns out the blank erase tile in the top left was not set to the priority of "5" just like coyotecraft was saying. It was blank. Once I changed that, it works fine now. Funny because I don't recall ever deleting that so that never came to mind as being an issue. Although that simple mistake wasted a lot of my time, I'm honestly happy it was that and not something overbearing and ridiculous. Just another day in RMXP. Thanks to everybody for your suggestions and input. Glad to be part of a gaming community full of such helpful and intelligent people such as yourselves :thumb:


Top Top
Profile      
 

    InfernalBlissJ
  Tue Aug 05, 2014 9:57 am
User avatar
Member

Sewer Rat

Location: Port Charlotte, FL
Hahaha, You posted that just as I posted mine ZenVirZan. I just came to that conclusion, Thankyou :biggrin:


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Rhoff25
  Wed Jun 14, 2017 11:17 am
Member

L1 Slime
Glitchfinder wrote:
You probably used the wrong tile to clear something out. Try using the paint tool Rachat prêt on all the empty space in the upper two levels, while you have the top left tile of the tileset selected.

Yes, you're right


Top Top
Profile      
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

We are an independent, not-for-profit game making community.
Homepage
Board Index
About Us
Downloadable Games
Free Browser Games
Games in Development
RPG Maker Support
Game Maker Support
Construct 2 Support
HBGames the eZine
Advanced RPG Maker
Site Announcements
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group