Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

[ Big| Medium| Small] -



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
    atoria
  Sat May 24, 2008 6:36 am
Member

Uber Quest Log
Version 1.0
by Atoria (aka coolmariners98)


Introduction

Some of you may remember this script from a long time ago labeled as the Ultimate Quest Scene. This is basically the same thing and I am the same author so don't go ranting about how this script was made by someone else. I just wanted to update my first script for the VX interface.

Features
    * Doesn't use any switches
    * Can handle and unlimited number of quests
    * Can hold up to 8 objectives per quest
    * Each time an objective is completed the quest updates
    * Quests appear in the menu only after you get the quest, instead of there just being a list of all quests or you can now have all of them be displayed the choice is up to you
    * Keeps track of how much money, exp, completed, found, etc
    * Has a nice GUI in Quest_Data

I also added some new things, while moving some stuff around as well
    * You can define either quest NPCs or non-quest NPCs (quest NPCs will have a golden exclamation point over their head)
    * Text wrap was added for quest info, so feel free to type a massive paragraph and it will parse it just fine

Screenshots
Content Hidden


Demo

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=10EEPYKN

Scripts

Quest Window


Quest Data


How To Call


Add to Main


Instructions

This script is actually a little difficult to use, so make sure you read these instructions carefully.

To use this script as is all you need to edit is the Quest Data
  • qupdate is the bulk of this code, it updates your quest information
    • qupdate[1, 11, 21, 31, 41, etc] = setting to true will make quests 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, available aka they show up in the menu
    • qupdate[10, 20, 30, 40, etc] = you use these to check to see if quests 1, 2, 3, 4 are finished they are updated automatically so it's often just used by the quest giver event (demo shows best)
    • qupdate[2-9, 12-19, 22-29, etc] = setting to true will update the objectives in each quest so qupdate[12] = true will make the first objective in quest 2 be completed
  • handin is important as well and is to be used when a quest is handed in to the quest giver
    • handin[0, 1, 2, 3, etc] = setting to true will completely end quests 1, 2, 3, 4, and update the quest journal
  • The rest of the data that needs to be filled in is pretty self explanatory any questions can be posted below


Credits and Thanks

Event Text Display by ???

Author's Notes

None at the moment

Terms and Conditions

You can use this script as long as I am credited.


Last edited by Dargor on Fri Mar 20, 2009 1:47 pm, edited 8 times in total.
Fixed Missing Content


Top Top
Profile      
 

    mechacrash
  Sat May 24, 2008 10:33 am
User avatar
Member


Location: England, Kent
looks pretty good... bit nasty on the newbs i think though XD

_________________
WHY DOESNT RUBY HAVE AN EASY TO USE AND BUILT IN .EXE CREATOR OR GRAPHICS AND AUDIO SYSTEM???

ruby makes me cry... kinda


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Lockheart
  Sat May 24, 2008 12:31 pm
User avatar
Member


Location: Ontario, Canada
Great script, I remember using this on XP and it was awesome, but this makes it even better.

Just a thought, perhaps it would be good if you could make the level up message show when the characters level up from the EXP gained from the quests?


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Shin!
  Sat May 24, 2008 3:14 pm
User avatar
Member

Could you, please, upload the DEMO somewhere else?
Megaupload just doesn't work for me.

_________________
~SHIN~


Image


Top Top
Profile      
 

    DestinMancer
  Sat May 24, 2008 4:45 pm
User avatar
Member

Could you edit this script so that it may not be accessed from the menu but from an item?


Top Top
Profile      
 

    namkid9x
  Sat May 24, 2008 7:05 pm
User avatar
Member

plzzz reupload...

mediafire or box.net

_________________
Nam.Kazt


Image


Top Top
Profile      
 

    dontblink88
  Mon Jun 16, 2008 1:37 am
Member

I get an error message when using this script. :(

Quote:
Script 'Quest Log 1' line 374: NoMethodError occurred.

undefined method `code' for #


Quote:
374        if @list.code == 108 # if it is a comment


Any ideas?


Last edited by dontblink88 on Mon Jun 16, 2008 1:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top Top
Profile      
 

    mechacrash
  Mon Jun 16, 2008 8:00 am
User avatar
Member


Location: England, Kent
its comparing an integer to an array... i dont know what the problem si but you may have to do this:
if @list.code.is_a?(Array)
  for i in 0...@list.code.size
    if @list.code[i] == 108
    #do something
    end
  end
else
  if @list.code == 108
  #do something
  end
end

then again im nto sure what @list.code is meant to be or what it contains so this may not work.

_________________
WHY DOESNT RUBY HAVE AN EASY TO USE AND BUILT IN .EXE CREATOR OR GRAPHICS AND AUDIO SYSTEM???

ruby makes me cry... kinda


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Krobelus
  Mon Jun 16, 2008 8:32 am
User avatar
Member


Location: Ecruteak City
This truly is 'UbEr'

Good job!
-Krobe

_________________
http://img249.imageshack.us/img249/2530/brolysigcopyim1.png[/img]
Credit [url=http://www.pkmncommunity.com/member.php?u=63084\]BreD[/url] for the Sig~Avvie!
~`<3 Rose`~
~~`RPG Maker User`~~
~~~`Recently Razmazter`~~~
~~~~`Pokemon Retire-er`~~~~
~~~~~`PKMN Platinum Screenshots!`~~~~~


Top Top
Profile      
 

    psymastr
  Tue Jun 17, 2008 5:30 pm
Member

Awesome script, but I found a glitch.  In the demo, if you have the talk to skeley and flamey quest selected, but you complete the animal quest, you can't get the nun's reward until you select that quest from the quest menu.


Top Top
Profile      
 

    jarhead31
  Tue Jun 17, 2008 10:05 pm
Member

Could someone please upload this to mediafire? Thanks.  :smile:


Top Top
Profile      
 

    encen
  Sat Jun 21, 2008 9:44 pm
User avatar
Member


Location: some where near the place over there!
Okay I have a stupid question, not really used to ruby,
how can I change the name 'hero' over the characters head?
Like when using text you would write \N[1] Like that, but in script.

_________________
THE TOP                    _
HAT OF DOOM!! =>         | |
                                  ----
MUWAHAHAAAA!!!!


Top Top
Profile      
 

    psiclone
  Sun Jun 22, 2008 12:50 am
User avatar
Member

encen wrote:
Okay I have a stupid question, not really used to ruby,
how can I change the name 'hero' over the characters head?
Like when using text you would write \N[1] Like that, but in script.


In the script titled "--Atoria's Quest Log {Win}", it's line 424 in the script. I just changed mine to ["", Player_Color] so it shows nothing over the player's name. I think that's dumb to have that in the first place if it's not an MMO.


Top Top
Profile      
 

    encen
  Sun Jun 22, 2008 3:59 am
User avatar
Member


Location: some where near the place over there!
very true, just wondering if it would work, and how i could do that.
I guess it is better to name him nothing that to name EVERYTHING.
To much work for me, i'm pretty lazy with that stuff.

_________________
THE TOP                    _
HAT OF DOOM!! =>         | |
                                  ----
MUWAHAHAAAA!!!!


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Ducktor
  Mon Jun 23, 2008 12:03 pm
User avatar
Member


Location: Budapset, Hungary
I'm not sure whether it happens only to me, but when loading a saved game, the quest data just resets. This script has no use without storing its data to the saved game.

edit:
I fixed my save problem. The script actually misses to save the quest data. You have to add this anywhere after Scene_File:
Expand to see the code.


Last edited by Ducktor on Mon Jul 27, 2009 12:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top Top
Profile      
 

    lonewolf80
  Mon Jun 23, 2008 7:53 pm
Member

I get this error immediately after the start screen.
http://img362.imageshack.us/img362/7441/errorrp4.jpg[/img]


Top Top
Profile      
 

    mechacrash
  Tue Jun 24, 2008 4:59 pm
User avatar
Member


Location: England, Kent
check my previous post... i think i sorted the problem there... then again im not 100% sure as i dont use RMXP / RMVX anymore and as such havnt tested (but im a ruby coder so i think im right... then again going from just one error isnt all that easy)

_________________
WHY DOESNT RUBY HAVE AN EASY TO USE AND BUILT IN .EXE CREATOR OR GRAPHICS AND AUDIO SYSTEM???

ruby makes me cry... kinda


Top Top
Profile      
 

    lonewolf80
  Tue Jun 24, 2008 8:18 pm
Member

If I add that bit to the code, it fails before loading even the title screen.


Top Top
Profile      
 

    mechacrash
  Wed Jun 25, 2008 4:23 pm
User avatar
Member


Location: England, Kent
thats because it doesnt go underneath the code (which im guessing your doing) it replaces the erroring line... as i said i havnt looked at the actual code just checked that it errors because its trying to read an array not a single line of data so i made it check if its an array and act accordingly... you need to know some scripting and it was aimed really at those who do or the script's creator... get in contact with him or find someone who will script it in (its pretty simple but i dont have time and as i said... i dont use the rpgmakers anymore... i jsut code)

_________________
WHY DOESNT RUBY HAVE AN EASY TO USE AND BUILT IN .EXE CREATOR OR GRAPHICS AND AUDIO SYSTEM???

ruby makes me cry... kinda


Top Top
Profile      
 

    lonewolf80
  Thu Jun 26, 2008 2:33 am
Member

It gets syntax errors on a line contain 'end' when I do that.


Top Top
Profile      
 

    Adraboo
  Fri Jun 27, 2008 9:28 am
Member

Have a chance thet you make thies script also to RPG maker XP ?


Top Top
Profile      
 

    FlippyD
  Tue Jul 08, 2008 2:57 am
Sponsor

I'd really like to use this script, but there are a few problems:

1.) Is there a way to turn off those names above everyone's head completely?
2.) How do I add my own custom "quest complete" icon?
3.) Quests aren't saved with the save file.

_________________
Just another aspiring game maker.

Current project- Depth: Chronicals

Detained- Broken Sky


Top Top
Profile      
 

    tugori
  Sat Jul 19, 2008 1:51 pm
Member

ixis wrote:
I'd really like to use this script, but there are a few problems:

1.) Is there a way to turn off those names above everyone's head completely?
2.) How do I add my own custom "quest complete" icon?
3.) Quests aren't saved with the save file.


Yes, I'd also like to know about that. But to 1) just remove the comment in the event.

The quest are also shown from the beginning on. It would be better if they appeared after having talked with the people.

There is also another bug. If i talk to Vania first and accept the quest and have a look in the menu then, then I see the quest "Understanding". If i click on "The Chase" then, everything is okay again.


Last edited by tugori on Sat Jul 19, 2008 2:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top Top
Profile      
 

    maia
  Wed Aug 20, 2008 7:03 pm
Member

I hooked mine up to variables, because I already had used them for quests.


Last edited by maia on Wed Aug 20, 2008 7:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top Top
Profile      
 

    Phoenix Flame
  Fri Aug 22, 2008 5:53 am
User avatar
Member

Please upload the demo to another host. Like mediafire or box.net

_________________
Image
Which Final Fantasy Character Are You?
Image


Top Top
Profile      
 

    AmazingAdam
  Thu Sep 11, 2008 5:46 pm
Member

I have copied everything of script from the demo and added the Main thing but I still get an error. It happens when I open the quest log up using an item (through common event since I have one of Dargor's party scripts which takes it out of the menu unfortunatey). The error says:

Script '--Artori's Quest Log {Win}' line 220: NoMethodError occured.
unidentified method `' for nil:NilClass

Is that is anyway effected by Dargor's script or is that just me making a mistake?


Top Top
Profile      
 

    lomastul
  Sat Sep 13, 2008 5:55 pm
User avatar
Member

Awesome script man :D
is there any chance you or anyone else on this site will make this script comptable ith the crafting system so they both will be accesable from the menu?
thanks in advance.
Edit: weoot nvm i tried to do it by myself and somehow made it :D (i got no RGSS knowledge :D)

_________________
Working on: Tears Of Destiny
Image


Image


Last edited by lomastul on Sat Sep 13, 2008 6:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top Top
Profile      
 

    ClaudeBell
  Tue Sep 16, 2008 2:43 pm
User avatar
Member


Location: Chinese
lonewolf80 wrote:
I get this error immediately after the start screen.
http://img362.imageshack.us/img362/7441/errorrp4.jpg[/img]

I get the same error.....
I dont konw why.....
Please Please help me......
....eh....maybe I have used too many other sprits?...


Top Top
Profile      
 

    valentim
  Wed Sep 17, 2008 1:18 am
User avatar
Member


Location: Brazil
To correct code error "line 374" simply add [ i ] after @list.... example:
Expand to see the code.


Like this...
Expand to see the code.

_________________
http://img73.imageshack.us/img73/7817/signaturezb7.png[/img]


Last edited by valentim on Wed Sep 17, 2008 1:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top Top
Profile      
 

    Calminaion
  Sat Nov 01, 2008 10:38 am
Member

Problems...We NEED a new upload, Megaupload not working...and I get this different error message:  "Script 'Quest Window' line 414: TypeError occurred.  Undefined superclass 'Sprite_Base'

Help please! And someone re-upload the demo to another site to help out us newbies PLEASE. Thank you.


Top Top
Profile      
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No users and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
We are an independent, not-for-profit game making community.
Homepage
Board Index
About Us
Downloadable Games
Free Browser Games
Games in Development
RPG Maker Support
Game Maker Support
Construct 2 Support
HBGames the eZine
Advanced RPG Maker
Site Announcements
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group